GRI Designation

What is GRI?

The acronym GRI signifies Graduate REALTOR® Institute. It is a NAR designation that many REALTORS® use to showcase their extensive knowledge and professionalism in the world of real estate, compared to the average licensee. This is a designation that does not require annual renewal as long as the designee is an active member of NAR. The education requirements and cost vary by state.

How do I get it?

GRI classes are offered through the state association (NC REALTORS®) but may be hosted at a local-participating association, such as WSRAR. The education requirements for a North Carolina REALTOR® to attain their GRI are:

REALTORS who started their GRI designation journey prior to July, 1, 2021:

  • 4 Online Courses (32 hours)
    • Mastering Real Estate Negotiations
    • Meeting the Needs of Buyers & Sellers
    • Successful Buyer Client Systems
    • Successful Seller Client Systems
  • 28 Class Hours
  • 12 Elective Credits

REALTORS who started their GRI designation journey after July, 1, 2021:

  • 5 Live/Virtual Classes
    • Legal Risks in Real Estate
    • Financing in Today’s Market
    • Protecting Yourself from the Cyber Enemy
    • Sticking to the Code of Ethics
    • The Road to the Perfect Contract
  • 8 Online Self-Paced Classes

Certain elective courses and NAR credentials may be requested for equivalency credit for up to $35. For more information, please visit

For questions and/or more information, contact Savanna Reagin at

<br />