NCAR Annual Awards

The North Carolina Association of REALTORS® takes great pride in honoring the best in the real estate industry each fall at its Annual Convention. Nominations are accepted each year through June 1. Below are brief descriptions of the awards. For more information, call 800-443-9956.
REALTOR® of the Year Award
The NCAR REALTOR® of the Year award was the first of its type in the country. The award, which is presented annually at the NCAR Convention, is known as the Clendenin Cup. The Clendenin Cup was donated by the late Kemp C. Clendenin, Sr., of Greensboro in honor of several late REALTOR® members of the Clendenin family. The award is now also presented in memory of Mr. Clendenin. Since its inception in 1950, every state association has adopted a similar program.

Ben Ball Community Service Award

This program is designed to recognize REALTORS® at the local Board and state levels for their continuing contributions to the betterment of their communities through outstanding public service. One recipient is selected each year, but an award does not have to be presented regardless of the number of nominations.

REALTOR® Hall of Fame Award

The prestigious NCAR Hall of Fame Award was established in 1990 as a Lifetime Achievement Award to honor outstanding REALTORS® who have contributed and continue to contribute persistent, outstanding service to our profession in the areas of development, environment or government, and/or leadership which have an enduring effect upon the real estate profession. One recipient is selected each year, however an award does not have to be presented regardless of the number of nominations.

REALTOR® Regional Service Award
The NCAR Regional Service Award Program was developed to recognize those REALTORS® in each NCAR Region who have contributed to and continue to serve their local Board, community and NCAR. All REALTOR® members are eligible to compete for the award, except the current NCAR officers. Only one award can be presented for each NCAR Region, however, an award does not have to be presented regardless of the number of nominations.

Rising Star Award

Recognizes a REALTOR® in each Board who has been a REALTOR® for five years or less and who has provided exemplary service to the local Board and exhibits leadership potential. Each Board selects their Rising Star winner and submits the name to NCAR. Awards committee does not review the submitted winners. Local Boards should notify the Rising Star winner of their selection–the name will be published in the fall issue of the Insight magazine.